I am a first time blogger …

I am new at this but old in experience as a pastor and a professor of philosophy and religion.  And believe it or not I have pastored 26 churches.  If you are not familiar with Baptist polity, a local church is sovereign in that it owns its property and buildings, hires and fires its own ministers and staff (and pastors are free to respond  to calls from some other field), and in the case of these latter claims churches need an interim pastor to step in and perform pastoral duties while a pulpit committee seeks a permanent pastor.  I held 22 interim pastorates.  I held two part time pastorates while earning four degrees and two full time pastorates.  I taught philosophy and religion for 27 years in a Baptist university, and did adjunct teaching at my seminary.  Finally, I did adjunct work at a state university for five years after my retirement.  I still pastor a small rural church.  I just want to air some of my learning and experience, and some of my ideas that I hope are challenging and provocative to you.  I will share some reading that I think will benefit you.  I am a C. S. Lewis scholar.  My doctoral dissertation was the development of a theory of Apologetics built around the work of Lewis,  J. R. R. Tolkien, Charles Williams, and Owen Barfield.  I lived and studied in the United Kingdom for three years, and met some of Lewis’s friends and family.  These years were the high point of my adult life.  I even held a part time pastorate  while in the UK.  Well, I think this enough for now.  No doubt more stuff will arise as we share together.  Please drop by.

Wayne Swindall

 

Leave a comment